Advisory Board

Advisory Board

Karsh Institute of Democracy - Advisory Board Members

William J. Antholis
Director and CEO, UVA Miller Center (CLAS ‘86)

Deborah Archer
President, ACLU; Professor of Clinical Law; Co-faculty director, Center on Race, Inequality, and the Law; Co-director, Arthur Garfield Hays Civil Liberties Program, NYU Law School

Melody C. Barnes
Executive Director, Karsh Institute of Democracy; W.L. Lyons Brown Family Director for Policy and Public Engagement; J. Wilson Newman Professor of Governance, Miller Center; Senior Fellow, Karsh Center for Law & Democracy, UVA

Megan Barnett
Vice Provost for Academic Initiatives, UVA (CLAS ‘93)

Ian Baucom
Provost, UVA

Megan Beyer
Director, Art in Embassies, U.S. Department of State

John Bridgeland
Founder and CEO, Civic and Executive Chairman, Office of American Possibilities (Law ‘87)

The Honorable Mariano-Florentino Cuéllar
President, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

James (Jim) Donovan
Vice Chairman, Global Client Coverage, Goldman Sachs and Adjunct Professor, University of Virginia School of Law

Laurent Dubois
John L. Nau III Bicentennial Professor in the History & Principles of Democracy, UVA

Heather Evans
John Morton Beaty Endowed Chair in Political Science, UVA's College at Wise

Risa Goluboff (Vice Chair)
Dean, School of Law; Arnold H. Leon Professor of Law, UVA

Lawrence D. Howell
Co-founder EFG International (CLAS ’75, Law ’79)

John C. Jeffries, Jr.
David and Mary Harrison Distinguished Professor of Law; Counselor to President James Ryan, UVA (Law ’73)

Martha L. Karsh
Co-founder, Karsh Family Foundation (CLAS ’78, Law ‘81)

The Honorable Anthony Kennedy
Associate Justice, U.S. Supreme Court (retired)

Yuval Levin
Senior Fellow, Beth and Ravenel Curry Chair in Public Policy and Director of Social, Cultural, and Constitutional Studies, American Enterprise Institute; Editor-in-Chief, National Affairs

Sandra Wicks Lewis
Former Relationship Manager - Professional and Executive Banking Division, Bank of America; Co-Founder Lewis Family Fund (CLAS ’72)

Manu Meel
CEO, BridgeUSA

James B. Murray Jr
Managing General Partner, Court Square Ventures; Founder, Presidential Precinct; Member, UVA Board of Visitors (CLAS ‘68)

John L. Nau III
President and CEO, Silver Eagle Distributors, L.P.; Founder and President, The Nau Foundation (CLAS ’68)

Alexis K. Ohanian
Founder, Seven Seven Six; Former Executive Chair, Reddit (McIntire ‘05)

John M. Owen IV
Ambassador Henry J. and Mrs. Marion R. Taylor Professor of Politics; Faculty Senior Fellow, Miller Center; Faculty Fellow, Institute for Advanced Studies in Culture, UVA

Larry J. Sabato (Chair)
Founder and Director, Center for Politics; University Professor of Politics, UVA (CLAS ’74)

Reverend Dr. Gabriel A. Salguero
Pastor, The Gathering Place and President and Founder, National Latino Evangelical Coalition

Suzanne Spaulding
Director, Defending Democratic Institutions Project, Center for Strategic and International Studies (CLAS ‘78, Law ‘81)

Margaret Spellings
President and CEO, Texas 2036; U.S. Secretary of Education, Bush Administration 2005-2009

Jayme Swain
President and CEO, VPM and the Virginia Foundation for Public Media, (CLAS ‘97)

Christian Taylor
Student Representative, UVA (CLAS ‘24)

Craig Volden
Professor of Public Policy and Politics, Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy; Co-director, Center for Effective Lawmaking, UVA

Inaugural Advisory Board Members

Lonnie Bunch
Secretary, Smithsonian Institute

Laura Farish Chadwick
Vice President, William Stamps Farish Fund (CLAS ‘89)

Alberto Ibargüen
President and CEO, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation

Sarita Mehta
Student Representative, UVA (CLAS ‘22)

Larry D. Terry II
Executive Director, Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service, UVA